Programme Archive: Munch Award

The Edvard Munch Award for Contemporary Art was initiated and developed by the Office for Contemporary Art Norway (OCA) in 2004–05 under the directorship of Ute Meta Bauer. The aim was to enhance exchange in international contemporary art and highlight the importance and on-going influence of the Norwegian artist Edvard Munch (1863–1944).

The award was presented for the first time by HRH Queen Sonja of Norway to the Indian artist and film-maker Amar Kanwar on 27 April 2005. Kanwar was selected by Ute Meta Bauer and the members of the International Board of OCA, consisting of Director and Chief curator of the Renaissance Society at the University of Chicago, Susanne Ghez; Research professor at the University of Lund, Sarat Maharaj; and Director of The National Museum of Art, Architecture and Design in Oslo, Sune Nordgren. The prize included a grant of 350 000 NOK and a six-month residency at the Munch estate Ekely in Oslo, and was the highest prize for international contemporary art given in Norway at the time. The grant was intended to support the development of a new work and to cover living expenses during the residency. On 14 November 2006 HRH Queen Sonja of Norway presented the award on behalf of OCA for the second time. The recipient was the German artist, writer and curator Alice Creischer. She was selected by an international jury including Artistic Director for Documenta 12 in Kassel, Roger Buergel; Curator at the Dia Art Foundation in New York, NY, Lynne Cooke; Co-editor of Frieze Germany, Jörg Heiser; OCA Director Marta Kuzma; Chief Curator of Museu d'Art Contemporani de Barcelona (MACBA), Bartomeu Mari; and Director of Wiels, Brussels, Dirk Snauwaert.

In 2015, The Munch Museum launched The Edvard Munch Art Award. According to the museum, The Edvard Munch Art Award is an acknowledgement of Edvard Munch's historical significance and enduring relevance to contemporary culture. The Award shall contribute to promote the development of outstanding international talents in the field visual arts. The Award will be given to an emerging visual artist, no older than 40 years of age, who has demonstrated exceptional talent within the last five years. The Award consists of a prize of 500,000 NOK, which is paid directly to the recipient. It also includes a solo exhibition of the recipient's work at the Munch Museum in Oslo, Norway.

Munch Award : 14 November 2006

Munch Award 2006

Award Winner 2006 - Alice Creischer

The Edvard Munch Award for Contemporary Art 2006 was awarded to the German artist, writer and curator Alice Creischer by H. M. Queen Sonja of Norway on 14 November 2006.

Munch Award : 27 April 2005

Munch Award 2005

Award Winner 2005 - Amar Kanwar

The Edvard Munch Award for Contemporary Art 2005 was awarded to the Indian artist and filmmaker Amar Kanwar by H. M. Queen Sonja of Norway on 27 April 2005.